Welcome to Canadaquaria. Members please log in.

Please register to view all topics

Guests may view and use the Aquariums for Beginners area, Freshwater General Section without registering.

Registered members see Canadaquaria advertisement free.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Welcome to Canadaquaria. Members please log in.

Please register to view all topics

Guests may view and use the Aquariums for Beginners area, Freshwater General Section without registering.

Registered members see Canadaquaria advertisement free.

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Aquarium Fish Question

3 posters

Go down

Aquarium Fish Question Empty Aquarium Fish Question

Post by laurieisen Sat Jan 31, 2015 7:09 pm

I am relatively new to the aquarium scene and looking to branch out. Been doing a lot of reading on US aquarium sites. I had a question what are the rules regarding Channel Catfish, Golden Orfe, Bowfin, Tench ect. Are we allowed to keep them at all or are they not permitted? If permitted do you guys know some fish stores which sell them? Preferably one in Eastern Canada?

laurieisen
Fish Fry
Fish Fry

Back to top Go down

Aquarium Fish Question Empty Re: Aquarium Fish Question

Post by alexmtl Sat Jan 31, 2015 8:20 pm

Hi Laurieisen,

Welcome to the forum. In general native Canadian fish may be subject to provincial angling laws in which case you are not permitted to keep the fish in an aquarium. If you have transferred a fish from one body of water to another, this is a clear prohibition with sport fish and other restricted species. You will need to consult with both provincial and federal websites to determine the feasibility of keeping any species in a freshwater tank. You may not release it back into the wild once it has been in captivity.